Home > Uncategorized > April is AWESOME

April is AWESOME

Hello my friends, how are you all doing?  No, no that’s good… keep talking, I’m really interested. No really, what were you saying?  Uh huh… yeah… you don’t say. Ok that’s enough from you. MY TURN.

Now, lets get one thing straight: I’m a fan of music.  So when I hear large quantities of really good music, I get really excited.  How excited, you ask? Very excited (and I thought we’d agreed you were not to speak).  This month several artists are releasing new albums for your listening pleasure.  Here are a few of them.

Kaki King: “Junior”

Kaki’s back!  And, well, to be honest, rock-ier than ever.  Her new album “Junior”, was just released here in the states last week and I’ve already given it a few listens.  For those of you who have heard Kaki’s earlier work and have thought “well, I’m too much of a metal head to appreciate good acoustic music.  Gosh, I’m such a narrow minded mouth-breather”.  Fear not, Kaki has heard your cry.  “Junior” takes typical Kaki King finger-style guitar work, amplifies it and runs it through a distortion pedal.  Don’t believe me?  Watch this (fun starts at about 30 seconds):

Pretty bad ass right?  Check out “The Betrayer” as well if you liked that one. Now for those of you who have heard Kaki King before and thought “well gee, all that noisy guitar was awful.  Gosh I’m such a narrow minded mouth-breather”.  Fear not, try “Spit it Back in my Mouth” or choose for yourself by PREVIEWING the WHOLE ALBUM:

John Butler Trio: “April Uprising”

John Butler has typically been known for his fancy-dancy blue-grass/country inspired guitar work.  A lot of that is still present here on this album.  This album is certainly catering to a wider audience, though.  The songs are much more hook driven, and typically feature less bottle neck slides than his earlier work.  Still pretty boss, though.  This one’s my favorite:

Jonsi: “Go”

Jonsi, full name Jon Þór Birgisson, was the lead singer of long standing Icelandic favorite Sigur Ros.  Sigur Ros announced last year that they would be taking an “indefinite hiatus” to allow for band members to focus on their families and solo projects.  “Go” is one of these solo projects.  It is an interesting album.  The entire thing is wrapped in this etherial mist of pretty sounding things… that’s literally the best I can describe it.  Much of it is sung in Jonsi’s trademark falsetto.  Jonsi isn’t for everyone… he’s a bit of an odd character, but I garuntee after a few listens you won’t be able to stop thinking about it.  Did I say odd character?  Here’s the music video for “Go Do”, wherein he is dressed in what I can only describe as Rainbow-meets-Indian Cheif-meets-Mummified Pirate garb… and yes,  it’s awesome:

Antoine Dufour: “Convergences”

“Convergences” is set to come out April 27th and serves as a follow up to his incredible “Existence” album.  This is a particularly exciting album for me, becuase… well… I love the guy. But also, there is a notable shift in inspiration, from traditional folk guitarists to more mainstream acts.  There will be covers of Imogen Heaps ever popular “Hide and Seek” and Coldplay’s “Life in Technicolor” as well as a song inspired by Coldplay’s other work called “Cold Day”, seen here:

Hannah Georgas: “This is Good”

I bet you haven’t heard of Hannah Georgas.  That’s ok, I hadn’t either.  I stumbled across her music on CBCs Radio One site, and I must say… I had to change my pants.  She’s a solo singer-songwriter from Vancouver, and she’s very good.  She’s all the things I love about the soloist genre, with just the right mixture of vocal chops and well thought out music.  Think Regina Spektor, only canadian…  So, as you can imagine, I already had an uncomfortable tightening of my jeans to worry about, but when I heard the album was co-produced by Mother Mother’s Ryan Guldemond… well that was about all I could handle! Pass me a towel.  Now, it’s nigh on impossible to find any information about this album, but it is rumored that it will be released April 27th.  Please check out her myspace and watch this:

Foxy Shazam: “Foxy Shazam”

“Andy, what are you some sort of sissy?  Listenin’ to yo’ gurly ass music? *insert mouth-breathing noise*”  Ok, first of all, what did I say about you talking?  Second of all…you want rock?  Fine, see if I care.  Foxy Shazam is ROCK.  They’re a progressive band from cincinatti and dammit are they fun to listen to.  Think a modern day AC-DC with more basketball references.  Their self titled album just came out this month, and is actually streaming from their myspace.  I think all you need to know about these guys you can learn from watching the music video for their song “Oh Lord”, ENJOOOY:

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

